Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I'm starting a new RepRap project. Any thoughts?

Posted by SamS 
I'm starting a new RepRap project. Any thoughts?
August 10, 2014 01:20PM
Hi everyone,

I've started designing a new printer, and though it is mostly just for fun I thought I would see if anyone is particularly interested. It goes in the opposite direction of most RepRaps I've seen and for good reason- It won't be terribly practical for too many people.

A little background- I am a mechanical engineer who does automation engineering, and I find the difference between here and the industrial world so interesting. We in the RepRap community do everything to save every dollar, and the difference between $10 and $50 is huge here, while there if something very minor costs a few hundred dollars extra, it isn't a big deal at all. I've built machines with a tenth the functionality and purpose of a reprap for many thousands of dollars, simply because it had to adhere to codes and last 20 years.

I have to add that the developers here have done an astounding job at keeping costs down while building an amazing machine. The longer I work in my field the more respect I gain for people like nophead and Prusa- they are truly amazing.

But what if I have the money for a Makerbot but want to do it myself? I would still like to stay in the ballpark of several hundred dollars, but with a couple hundred more than my $400 i3 I would like to build a printer that is more solid, easy on the eye, and will need a lot less maintenance over time. I also want to include many features not standard on most repraps or 3D printers in general. Though none of this is truly necessary, I have plenty of time, money, and space, but wouldn't buy a commercial printer. Here's what I'm looking at:

-Solid construction with no limitations on size and weight (to a degree of course)
-Clear heated enclosure or semi-enclosure
-Fume dispersment/filtering.