Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

how important heated bed ?

Posted by fikri 
how important heated bed ?
August 23, 2014 07:32AM
what happens if the 3d printer does not use heated bed. if the printer is still able to work well or not at all?.

please answer my friends.

I'm a beginner in this field, even I have not had this printer.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/23/2014 07:33AM by fikri.
Re: how important heated bed ?
August 23, 2014 09:11AM
Hi, using a printed bed is optional but not needed, however, it's strongly advised to have one as the benefits are so great.

For ABS I have not been able to print without a heated bed, but for PLA it is possible if you use the right print surface, for example the blue 3M tape.

With a heated bed, my personal experience was mostly with kapton as this worked well for me with both ABS and PLA.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/23/2014 09:12AM by Ohmarinus.

http://www.marinusdebeer.nl/
August 23, 2014 09:30AM
Doesn't matter what material you use, a heated bed is a near necessity for raising the quality of your prints like nothing else [except proper cooling for PLA]. PLA will get along without it under the right circumstances, but in all my testing with that, the quality of the first layer or two could never reach that of when I did use the heated bed. I highly recommend the heated bed.

Realizer- One who realizes dreams by making them a reality either by possibility or by completion. Also creating or renewing hopes of dreams.
"keep in mind, even the best printer can not print with the best filament if the user is the problem." -Ohmarinus
August 23, 2014 09:51AM
hello Ohmarinus and MrDoctorDIV

I saw on yotube, most "printers rostcok" do not use the heated bed.

Can you explain to me what they use filaments, so that it can print without a heated bed. and whether the differences in filament abs and pla it, so it determines the quality of the print?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/23/2014 09:55AM by fikri.