Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

comparisons

Posted by polikimre 
comparisons
April 19, 2010 04:37PM
I'm new to this world but am fascinated by the possibilities. However, I'm a bit overwhelmed by the options and choices to make. Is there a comparison chart about the features, pros and cons, capabilities of the different 3d printing solutions like reprap, netfabb and makerboot? As I understand, makerbot should be fairly similar to reprap, but I couldn't find much about reprap vs netfabb.
Re: comparisons
April 19, 2010 07:15PM
Hi polikire,

you try to compare apples and oranges. Reprap, makerbot and RapMan are to compare. That are 3D printers.
netfabb is a low cost software to produce the toolpath for this kind of machines.
Before you can print anything on a system you need to have a "3D printer driver" to convert 3D STL files into the toolpath to control the machine.
If you want to compare netfabb you have to compare it with skeinforge, which is an open source.
You can find more details about netfabb Engine for RapMan on [www.netfabb.com]
April 19, 2010 07:48PM
Having an actual chart would be a good marketing move. But us at RepRap tend to systematically avoid marketing. smiling smiley

I believe Mendel is somewhat cheaper than Makerbot, and has a larger build volume. Someone else may have the precise numbers, or you can quickly google them. Besides that, there are not really significant differences. Many people buy a Makerbot in order to print a Mendel, for example.

Cost-wise, remember you are welcome to build a Mendel, and then sell several sets of parts:
[forums.reprap.org]
Many of us enjoy doing this, both because it is fun, and because then the machine actually ends up paying for itself, which is nice if you are cost-sensitive. spinning smiley sticking its tongue out

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/19/2010 08:04PM by SebastienBailard.

-Sebastien, RepRap.org library gnome.