Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie question or idea - FDM into a non-air medium

Posted by dannystaple 
Newbie question or idea - FDM into a non-air medium
December 22, 2014 02:15PM
I was finding out about different materials, and about some of the limitations on their use in extruders. I am new to 3d printing, but I am familiar with robotics, computing, Microcontrollers and electronics - the sides of this other than the material science stuff involved.

I came to understand about phase change diagrams and different substances - some of the plastics, and with metals how some alloys may have different characteristics, one of the major issues as I understand it are the relatively short phase transitions of metals. The other problem was apparently that the nozzle is dissolved and eroded by heated molten metal or the heat needed rapidly oxidises stuff.

So my question is this - please let me know if it is fundamentally flawed, or I am missing something, but printing is done onto a bed, through air - plain air. What if some other substance, another medium, was used for the print bed - bathed in some kind of fluid. It would require some thought - viscosity, being inert, would this impede the motion of the nozzle, thermal conductivity of it.
Could techniques used for sous vide cooking with Arduino's be used to maintain relatively stable temperatures of this medium and keep stuff just tacky enough coming out of the nozzle?

It just struck me that altering the parameters of the problem might make it easier to consider filament and nozzle types to print in other kinds of material.

My own interest here lies in conductive printing - if a part could be printed with conductors in place with multi-nozzle printing then I can see a multitude of interesting uses. The current conductive filaments have such high resistance to render them pretty useless.