Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

reprap + metal lathe combo

Posted by Autarkyboy 
reprap + metal lathe combo
May 27, 2010 07:13PM
Hello, I was looking at a pic of "Mendel Hardware plus Belts" at the reprapstores website and I have god this idea, to me it seems that almost all the hardware parts required for a Mendel can be made on a metal lathe, bolts, nuts, washers, smooth rods and threaded rods.

I thought that a RepRap and a metal lathe together can replicate more parts, in a RepLab kind of way.

I have no experience whatsoever with lathes and I don't know how bolts, nuts, washers and rods are industrially made, but I thought that it can be possibly cheaper to produce all the parts with a single machine, maybe the extruder parts too, I'm not sure if bearings can be made on a lathe, obviously a cnc one.

Does it even make sense to produce a bolt or a nut on a lathe? Will it cost a lot with electricity, lubricant and cutting blades replacement? Are the lathes economic just for custom parts and not for parts already made in an industrial way?

I know that the steel is pretty cheap if bought as scrap metal, something like 2 euro/kg, I think that all the reprap hardware can be less than a euro if bought in scrap metal. The complete hardware metal parts cost 200$.

Let's suppose that I want to replicate a lot of mendels to sell them or to give them to friends, does it make sense to buy a hobbyist lathe?
Re: reprap + metal lathe combo
May 27, 2010 08:02PM