Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printer Rust

Posted by jimmyrosano 
Printer Rust
March 06, 2015 05:17PM
Hello RepRap Community,

I am new to the 3d printing community. I purchased a RepRap Prusa Mendel Iteration 2 Kit and started assembling the frame all the way up to the rods that hold the heating bed. Recently I moved out of the place was living at and had to move the partially assembled printer to a new location (the garage of my new place). Sadly after getting situated at this place, I brought my printer upstairs to work on it again and find that there is rust on the pieces that I put together. I did some research and found you can use vinegar to remove rust but it is on some of the bearings as well as the rods that hold the bed. I am thinking I can possibly save the rods but the bearings will have to be replaced. My question is "Has anybody experienced this before and what did you do to solve it?" Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thank You,
Jimmy
Re: Printer Rust
March 06, 2015 05:28PM
Where you have carbon steel, you have rust, almost invariably. WD40 or anything similar is the usual remedy and prevention method.
March 06, 2015 06:25PM
Another alternative to prevent rust is Johnson's Paste Wax.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/06/2015 06:26PM by Michaelj.
March 07, 2015 04:36AM
Too late for prevention. Anyway, any machine and especialy CNCs must live in a dry and ventilated place. If you must move again to the garage, buid a sealed wood cabinet (wood regulates moisture) and put some silicate gels bags inside. Beware your filaments are not corrupt by moisture too.