Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What 3D printer design should I pick?

Posted by mikes3ds 
What 3D printer design should I pick?
March 23, 2015 02:02PM
There are so many designs out there for 3D printers on reprap I need help picking:

My experience:
I am a Computer Engineer
Built tons of robots, and other things; but first try to build 3d printer (love to tinker)

I have access to a:
3D printer, laser cutter, wood working equipment and more

What I am looking for:
Solid design.
Rigid frame.
Normal size or large build area.
Price as cheap as I can make it but $300-$1000
Something that has some of the new technology. (Maybe a, auto leveling/ calibration, dual head, smart extruder)
I don't want a kit.

I was looking prusa i3 derivate but could not pick one, so I wanted to open the search up to all reprap designs.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/23/2015 02:02PM by mikes3ds.
Re: What 3D printer design should I pick?
March 23, 2015 02:04PM
Have you considered a delta, e.g. Kossel XL or Cherry Pi?

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
March 23, 2015 05:29PM
Thank you I have taken a look at the Rostock Several variations (linear delta robot 3D printer).
What design of the delta type do you think is the best, take in mind I do not want a kit? (I looked at both the cherry-pi and the Kossel XL)
March 23, 2015 05:39PM
If you build a solid design/rigid frame you won't need auto-leveling.

Get some 8020 at your local scrap yard/metal recycler for the frame and while you're there keep your eyes open for linear motion components. The frame for my machine is all scrap 8020 type stuff (3 different makers/sizes, all about 1.5" square) and cost a total of about $80 ($2 per lb from the scrap yard). The pieces are all cut, milled square, and butt-jointed together with 5/16 x18 screws.