Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

File Formats, Compatibility, and Open Source

Posted by reifsnyderb 
File Formats, Compatibility, and Open Source
June 23, 2010 09:07AM
Hello,

Before I begin, please bear in mind that I have no CAD experience so maybe the problem is me. However, I have a reasonable amount of experience with open-source software so I have an appreciation of the challenge.

Recently, I was directed to some RepRap-related .dxf files that I was interested in looking at. I downloaded no less than 4 different programs that claimed to be able to read these formats. None of them would read these files. After doing a little research, I found that .dxf is an AutoCad format and it is subject to change.

While I understand and fully appreciate that people should be able to use the tools that they have available to them to support an open-source project, I have to question the compatibility issues. For example, a lot of open-source software is written in C or C++. This source code is readable by anything from a simple text editor (i.e. Notepad) to a $500 (or more) integrated development environment. Then, it can usually be compiled with a variety of compilers ranging from Microsoft's Visual Studio to the open-source and zero cost gcc. (Over the last few years, Microsoft has even made a version of it's compiler available for free.)

Why do I need to buy a $4,000 CAD program to read "open-source" RepRap related blueprints?

Regards,

Brian
Re: File Formats, Compatibility, and Open Source
June 23, 2010 09:40AM
Good points. This is one of the reasons why great projects like OpenSCAD parameterized mendel is started.

Though so far I've been able to look at the official designs with the supplied .stl files through Wings3D or OpenSCAD. Not optimal as the triangulation process makes the models hard to modify, but it is often sufficient if all you want is a closer look.

--
-Nudel
Blog with RepRap Comic
June 23, 2010 10:20AM