Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What does it take to become a successful maker?

Posted by Donocars 
What does it take to become a successful maker?
October 19, 2015 11:54AM
Hello fellow makers,
I'm a student gathering information for a paper on the maker movement. Please help me out answering this question. And if you would, please answer more questions at my other post [forums.reprap.org] Thanks.
Re: What does it take to become a successful maker?
October 19, 2015 01:34PM
Free time.
October 19, 2015 06:30PM
imagination, drugs, other hobbies.
October 19, 2015 07:46PM
Who needs drugs with all the fumes.
October 19, 2015 09:40PM
What do you mean by a "successful" maker? How famous you are? How much money you make at it? How much fun you have?
October 19, 2015 11:04PM
To make something successfully.

I'd say patience and fortitude...
October 20, 2015 02:25AM
MechaBits

Well, PETG is a lot lower on the fumes, so my wallet has gotten a lot lighter both with the added cost as well as the drugs I now have to buy. /S
October 20, 2015 05:41AM
Okay since you are not getting very far with this... I am not entirely certain on the definition of "maker", but if you mean someone who has a 3d printer and is confident to produce objects with it, possibly also designing those objects (or modifying objects already designed) then I would say the key higher skills are technical and creative.