A Story of DIY Prusa i3 - what i have learned
November 27, 2015 07:32AM
My Story kind of begins like the story of everyone else.
I am a Software Engineer. I work with computers. I have tried some hobbies to have fun. I have technical skills. But 3D Printing was a big mystery to me.
It was early 2015 when i discovered RepRap. I decided early on, to not just buy a diy kit or a finished Product but rather source the materials myself. One reason, was
i only found expensive sets here in Germany, or cheap sets from somewhere else, where shipping costs and tax were an issue. And to achieve my goal,
( cheap as possible) i have decided to buy some parts from china, printed parts from ukraine and some screws, nuts and bolts were sourced for free.

But to get there , to know what i have to buy, i had to do research.
In the beginning the Rep Rap wiki was my first source . And it was overwhelming.
A lot of printers there, a lot of old or obsolete stuff, a lot to read. But somehow i managed to decide on the Prusa i3. ( Don`t ask why, i forgot myself)
I had a lot of questions to myself and because i am not active in any forum whatsoever, i tried to figure everything out myself.
I ordered the electronics and bearings and belts on banggood. Stuff like arduino , ramps , stepper driver, j head, heatbed etc. for a relative good price. (and everything works just fine).
I ordered some steel rods from ebay from german shop, 5x Nema 17 stepper motors (chinese ones) and the Plastic printed parts also from ebay.
But hold on, which printed parts did i need? I had decided upon the Prusa i3 Rework 1.0 parts. why? because they were the cheapest i could find. all parts plus hobbed bolt for extruder and plus shipping cost me around 27 € .
Okay, for these parts i needed the cnc-cut/ laser-cut frame. No problem. asked a friend , who asked his friend if he could make them. .... yeah ... fail number one there.