Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

tool-discuss: a new forum

Posted by Liav Koren 
tool-discuss: a new forum
March 19, 2007 02:19AM
Hi. Apologies for the intruding into your forum with a tangential post, but I've been following the RepRap work for several months now, and am really intrigued and excited about it. I'm an architecture grad student at the university of toronto -- we have a fairly well equiped fab lab over here that includes both a plaster and an ABS printer, and a 3 axis miller. Having dropped more than enough money on 3d prints over the past few years, I can appreciate how remarkable an inexpensive, open-source system could be.

The reason I'm posting here is because I'm starting a forum that may be of interest to some of you, and I hope some of you will subscribe: the forum is devoted to the intersection of open-source tools/methods with interactive art, and design. Attached is a full description of the forum.

Yours,
Liav Koren

www.beige-box.org

There is an exciting niche to be filled. The development of open-source platforms, applications and methodologies mean that there are now unprecedented options available to those working with interactive art, media, and design. However, to make use of these tools effectively entire skill sets often must be acquired, communities must be found and joined, and a wide range of technical and theoretical issues must be confronted. There is no centralized forum devoted to examining the full spectrum of issues surrounding interactive media tools from the perspective of artists, designers, and theorists. The tool-discuss forum seeks to fill this niche. Currently the forum exists as a mailing list -- appropriate topics examine issue surrounding open-source software, hardware and methodologies from technical, artistic, critical, and sociological perspectives.

Some of the potential issues we feel worth exploring include: