Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Where do I start???ARRRRRGGGGHHH!!

Posted by ablainey 
Where do I start???ARRRRRGGGGHHH!!
November 10, 2010 08:58PM
confused smiley
Ok, Hi all this is my first post and have only know about reprap for ........hmmmmmm 7 1/2 minutes.
As you can tell I am impressed and have joined up, ready to go.....So now what?

My background is in Aviation engineering, IT and a bit of R&D chemistry. For kicks I invent things that solve a problem and you can see me here >[www.youtube.com] operating a robot arm with my mind. I also have a bit of experience in turning out parts using resins and composites, and have some skills in electronics, robotics, neural interfaces....and . Well that's probably enough for now. you get the idea, Mad scientist.
I actually started building a 3d printer about ten years ago using an old epson stylus, but it is now gathering dust somewhere in the project vault (A big Workshop where unfinished old crud goes to die)

Anyhooo.................... I want a reprap asap grinning smiley so I can start turning out.....well er..repraps etc. And In the spirit of the idea, I don't want to pay squat for it apart from return like for like to the person that helps + a bit more.

So here is my proposal:
1) Someone supplies me a working reprap machine.
2) I will use my time and skill to reproduce the machine, maybe tweek a few things.
3) I will send the copy or original back to the person that sent it
4) I will also send a full set of moulded reinforced resin parts to the sender or a set of whatever else I can make

Alternative is that people send parts and I send them back +1 then I source the electronics and other bits.

My intention is to try sorting the problem of making a replacement for the stepper motors and the other parts that have to be sourced, to push the idea to 100% self replication.