Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need help deciding if I should get this printer! grinning smiley

Posted by ultralight01 
Need help deciding if I should get this printer! grinning smiley
May 24, 2016 01:42PM
Hello! I've been eyeing 3D printing for a couple years now and I'm ready to get one. Expect for that I'm on a budget, which is why I need help. XD

I really want to get this 3D printer, expecially because of its 210mm build volume. But it's also chinese, and it's a DIY kit with no instructions.

First of all, does anyone have any idea where I can find instructions to build this thing? Is there an official name for it?

Thanks!

This is the printer: [www.ebay.com]
Re: Need help deciding if I should get this printer! grinning smiley
May 24, 2016 03:07PM
There aren't that difficult to put together, but you need to ask the seller for a manual.

Don't expect too much for that printer, but it might be a good starting point.
May 24, 2016 03:15PM
I would avoid anything with an acrylic frame. It won't be rigid and that will result in print quality problems.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
May 24, 2016 04:23PM
Thanks. I asked the seller, Maybe he'll have something. Probably not though.
May 24, 2016 04:25PM
I think the acrylic should be ok for now. Maybe I can print some reinforcements.
May 24, 2016 07:38PM
So, if I don't get this, what's the best thing I can get for under $300, with at least 200mm of building space? And no experience in building electronics?
May 24, 2016 08:51PM
You will need to gain some experience with the printer electronics, get that one or any other one that have a building manual. Don't worry about the print quality just get to understand how they work and once you know you will be able to built your own using most of the hardware from that printer.

Best advice though will be changing extruder and hotend ASAP.
May 25, 2016 05:22PM