Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Very Beginner Questions

Posted by Jonnyb42 
Very Beginner Questions
February 09, 2011 04:02AM
I would like to make a reprap, as would many others on here I see just starting out as well. I am leaning towards the Mendel, but I haven't researched the Prusa and Huxley enough to make a concrete decision yet. I am a freshman in college and I would like to begin gathering parts for this. It looks very involved so I am slightly worried, but I still plan on doing this. I have some questions if anyone could answer them that would be great:

1. Approximately how much did it cost you to build yours (for those of you who did make one, and mention the model) and approximately how long total did take from start to finish?

2. There is nothing mentioned in the video "RepRap Mendel Wiring" about the heated bed. I see on this page that it requires a good amount of power, more than the half of the total machine uses. Why is it not mentioned? Did it not exist or is the Mendel capable of printing parts O.K. without the heated bed, or did hey simply forget? (The RepRap Mendel Wiring video can be seen on the page linked to below.)

[some less important questions, answer these only if you feel like it]

3. What is the printing resolution on these repraps?

4. I see sometimes weird stuff around the extruders on some of the repraps. What is that for? It is inconsistent from mendel to mendel so I am wondering if this is some kind of cooling mechanism that people use differently based on what materials they have.

5. I couldn't find very many plastic filament sources, is it difficult to get plastic building material?

6. Were the instructions on the reprap website on how to build it complete? Are there any parts in the building process you are expected to know yourself?

...[even less important questions]