Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Absolute beginner questions

Posted by Tothe 
Absolute beginner questions
August 24, 2011 09:39PM
Hello all. I'm new to these forums, and new to 3D printing. I scanned through the forums, and didn't see any immediately obvious threads with my general questions, so I apologize if this is "identical n00b thread #532."

Background: Architectural draftsman, 3 yrs experience, mostly AutoCAD. Occasional mechanical projects. 2D and 3D.
Interests: Rapid prototyping for the occasional mechanical projects, and general goofing around to see what a rapid prototyper can do.
Future projects: I'd like to try my hand at fabricating custom gaming terrain for Warhammer 40K, Flames of War, &c.
Questions: 1) How much detail can be designed into the model? 2) Does the stratification of material have any physical texture, and if so, to what degree? 3) what are the typical costs and time for manufacturing a reprap? 4) what are the costs for the plastics used for manufacturing items?
Re: Absolute beginner questions
August 24, 2011 10:29PM
As a 40K player myself, I think I can answer this smiling smiley A great deal of detail can be added to the model, but there will be stratification. The amount depends on your layer height. A layer height of 0.3 mm will show fairly obvious layers, while 0.10 mm or so will be harder to discern. If you're planning to make contoured hills and other natural features, you could print at a lower resolution and just cover the print in a thin layer of spackle or green stuff to smooth it out. If you're interested in making mechanical stuff, a lower layer height will be better, as well as a thick basecoat to fill in some of the crevasses between layers. Go ahead and forget about making figures, though. At least, as long as you'd want them to look good smiling smiley The resolution just isn't there yet.

There are some great examples of excellent prints on the Thingiverse page for the Yoda bust, such as this one: