Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Advice on buying/building my first 3d printer.

Posted by luke130697 
Advice on buying/building my first 3d printer.
August 25, 2011 10:12AM
Hello, I'm fairly new to the concept of 3d printing and would like to purchase/build a 3d printer. I have done alot of research on them and have found three 3d printers that interest me; Shapercube, RepRap, Ultimaker. I would like some advice on which one to go for, or a suggestion of a different 3d printer. Bare-in-mind:
Cost (The cheaper the better),
Effectiveness (Not too bothered as long as it works well),
Difficulty of Building (Preferably fairly simple to build, but I am willing to try my hand at building a more complex printer).
I am just a teenager at the moment so bear in mind I will not be able to aford anything £800+.
Thank you in advance.
Re: Advice on buying/building my first 3d printer.
August 25, 2011 11:36AM
I think the effectiveness can be achieved with all of those, depends on the time and sweat you spend on settings.

I would say the price should be inversely proportional to build difficulty, but the RepRap Prusa Mendel seems fairly simple to build actually, and is probably the cheapest solution especially if you take the time to get the parts from different sources (all in one kit is not the cheapest IMO).

To help you decide, express what is you main goal : printing stuff or having fun and learning by building the machine, others... probably a mix I suppose.

Anyway, before you purchase anything, double check by reading a lot on the forums and other sources to estimate what is the buyers return - Some providers seems to be especially good at not making people happy, for various reasons.
August 25, 2011 12:37PM
My main goal is to get a good print and at a reasonable rate.
August 27, 2011 01:44PM
I spent roughly 600 on all my parts.
Its a prusa,