Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

what electronics should i use?

Posted by thegeekguy 
what electronics should i use?
January 13, 2012 07:55AM
i know there are a few kinds, and i'm also a little confused. i've see arduino based electronics, cnc based electronics, and STAMPS. i would just like to know the pros cons, how much a set will cost(i'm a student so cheap is good), and what software can be used with them. i'm not good at electrical but i'm willing to learn. Thanks!
Re: what electronics should i use?
January 13, 2012 08:12AM
Try the wiki "Comparison of Electronics".

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
January 13, 2012 02:44PM
well, this is my first build, and i don't know which components would be best, it looks like sanguinololu, but i heard there was pololu problems
January 14, 2012 03:48PM
I have been using the RAMPS board on my recent robots and I must say they are really easy to use. The Pololu drivers are cheap and easy to fit and because they are separate from the board simple to replace should you damage one. Working with the Arduino to upload and modify firmware is also straightforward.

I go for the built up boards as I am not very good at soldering and wouldn't attempt surface mount technology as my hands are too shaky! If this is your first build I would suggest you go for the built up boards, its one less headache.

Cost is as follows:-
Arduino Mega £21.90. (I use the clone ones of eBay and have had no issues)
RAMPS board £47.96
Pololu Boards £9.25 each (You need 4) (I have also used clone boards that I found OK)

Total £106.86

Buying them together you can get discounts, for example Reprapworld does them all for 100 euro (about £83) which does seem like a pretty good deal to me.

Of course you can build it yourself for less.

I would be interested in any opinions about the Sanguinololu boards as these look a neat solution also.
February 07, 2012 01:48AM