Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Confused about power requirements

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
Confused about power requirements
May 06, 2008 03:11PM
Hi guys Im making a custom CNC mill and have just recently bought some motors and im a little confused about what kind of power requirements im going to need im really electronics savvy but im just used to working with low voltage and amperage.

Here are the motors I have [www.allelectronics.com]

the specs that i have found:
1.8 Degree step
1.8 Volt
4.2 Amp
0.42 Ohm
127 Oz/in holding tourqe

So now im looking for a DIY/Opensource Controller that will fit my needs... or something i can modify. Im New at stepper motors and dont quite understand them fully yet. So please be gentile
Re: Confused about power requirements
May 06, 2008 03:17PM
Those steppers are pretty much outside any experience that I have. Maybe Nophead can help you or failing that you might want to post this inquiry over at CNCZone as well. smiling smiley
May 06, 2008 03:23PM
our stepper motor driver boards are rated for a max of 2A, so those motors you have will be sucking a lot more current than we can provide.

a hack to get around it is to use a resistor to bring that current down. a cheap, low-impedence resistor that people often use is a small lightbulb, such as an automotive light.
Anonymous User
May 06, 2008 04:35PM
Ya I made a post on CNCzone but no one replied yet.

I dont really want to do any hacks i wanna just build a controller that meets my needs.

Im confused about stepper motors and how they use voltage and amps i was reading that your supposed to you like 20 times the voltage or somthing like that and its confusing me, Is 4.2 amps the max that these will pull per motor?
May 06, 2008 07:21PM
For those low voltage high current motors you need a chopper drive. The higher the voltage is the greater the maximum speed will be. The average current will be reduced by the voltage ratio.