Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

leadscrew slide specifications

Posted by takeshi 
leadscrew slide specifications
August 11, 2014 04:55PM
Hello Reprap Enthusiasts! First off let me begin by stating "I am a newbie" and I have no clue on 3d printing calculations. With that said I am hoping to use a linear rail system to setup my first 3d printer. I have done a search and didn't yield the exact results I was looking for. If possible may I ask all the experts here at the forum something? I thank all of those who reply in advance!

I would like to know what kind of precision, accuracy and repeatibility we are aiming for when we build a printer? The leadscrew rail slide system I am looking into has the current specs:
12mm Diameter, 1.2nm turning force, Max speed 800mm/s, Repeatibility 0.03 - 0.05.

*Now before you guys say its wrong for a small sized application, we are hoping to build quite a large format printer. I understand that it will take ages to print, but we have a product we have been meaning to push out to the market which the mold must first be printed.

What kind of problems would we run into using those specs? We are going to drive it with nema 23's , and install antibacklash nuts. Is there a specific calculation that we can use to calculate based on the length we want to achieve? What are we trying to have resolution at for 3d printing? What should repeatibility be optimally?

I know you guys are thinking "wt..." I'm sorry I am asking so many questions, I have plenty of knowledge building cars, but 3d printing is such a new area for me. Any help is really apreciated!
Re: leadscrew slide specifications
August 12, 2014 05:38AM
takeshi
I have no clue on 3d printing [...] we have a product we have been meaning to push out to the market

Interesting combination!