Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How to figure out what you already have ?

Posted by TonyG 
How to figure out what you already have ?
August 22, 2012 05:54PM
I'm a noob, sorry, but I couldn't find the answer in the past posts.
Short version: Is there a way to get the firware settings already uploaded onto the Gen6 board?
Long version: I bought a used BotMill (Prusa) and after a rather major mechaincal rebuild, I'm still not getting the results I think I are correct. The original owner replaced the extruder with a Wade's, and I'm guessing had to make some firmware changes to support it. I can get the machine to print, but not well. I can't print any faster than 16 mm/s, which seems slow judging from this forum, and I have to set the extruder multiplier to 22 in Slic3r, and 50 in Kisslicer to get a flow that keeps up with that.
I believe I need to re-calibrate the machine, but without the origninal (or any) configuration files, am hesitant to make such wholesale changes to a working machine. I don't even know what firmware the board may be running (Marlin, FiveD, etc). So is there a way to get the firmware settings off the Gen6 board, so I have a starting point?

Thanks a bunch,
T.

in beautiful southern, Maryland...
Re: How to figure out what you already have ?
August 22, 2012 06:24PM
If it's Marlin M502 will show you what's in the EPROM.
Honestly it's not that hard to set up Marlin, I'd just download it and go through the setup process, once you've done it once, you'll have no fear about making tweaks afterwards.
August 22, 2012 07:50PM
tried M502, got nothing. Must not be Marlin. One down.

I'm guessing,by the age of this machine, it might be FiveD....

August 22, 2012 07:59PM
August 23, 2012 12:26PM
M115 did nothing either.