Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

major help needed for firmware editing

Posted by vinneth 
major help needed for firmware editing
December 23, 2012 09:16AM
Hi everyone,

I am a brand new reprap owner, I ordered a DIY kit from 3dstuffmaker, you can see the technical info here: [www.3dstuffmaker.com]

I have set up the machine, I have used their upgrade kit they provided. This included WinAVR. I now need to calibrate the machine. I am unable to load the configuration file they provided with Arduino or WinAVR to make anything that resembles normal text/pseudocode. I am not a programmer, although way back when I learned some very basic VisualBasic.

When loading in WinAVR it looks like this:

:100000000C940F080C9437080C9437080C9437089C
:100010000C9437080C9437080C9437080C94370864

When loading in Arduino I get the following message:

processing can only open it's own sketches and other files ending in .ino or .pde

If i try and add the file to a blank sketch and then compile I get the following error:

core.a(main.cpp.o): In function `main':
C:filepath\arduino-1.0.3\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/main.cpp:11: undefined reference to `setup'
C:filepath\arduino-1.0.3\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/main.cpp:14: undefined reference to `loop'

I need to be able to configure the extrusion rate. I would appreciate someone providing some simple steps to follow to be able to edit the file. I have attached it for your information.

The major issue I have with the self help files for these programs are they seem to all expect a decent to high level of coding ability, which I don't have.

thanks in advance for any help you can provide
Attachments:
open | download - 3dflashpront.hex (180 KB)
Re: major help needed for firmware editing
December 25, 2012 09:08AM
That's a hex file, you can't load it as a sketch. All you can do with it is program it into the AVR flash. You'll probably need the source code to change config.