Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

wrong travel range (z) @ Rostock - Marlin

Posted by luke2daH 
wrong travel range (z) @ Rostock - Marlin
March 28, 2014 08:28PM
Hi there,

I'm new in the 3D-printer-scene and got some issues calibrating my printer.

After finaly everything is set up for the first movements and tests, i got problems with the travelled distance.

Setup:
Selfmade Printer, orrientated on the Rostock delta-printer
Motherboard: Ramps 1.4
Stepper: 1.8 ° (200 Steps/rev)
Firmware Marlin (see atached files for Config)

1st Problem:

I got 20 tooth pulleys running with a GT2 belt.... and set 80 steps per mm in config.
When I meassure the travelled distance after pushing the button "1" for z axis down in Pronterface,
the carrier doesn't go down 1 mm (or cm, I don't know what scale pronterface uses for manual movement) but rather about 16mm.
If I check the distance in pronterface (M114) it tells me, that it went down for 1mm.

I got the A4988 on the board and the microstepping mode is set to 1/16 (see attached files).
I really dont know where the difference in distance comes from.

2nd Problem:

When I power up everything, connect the Arduino to pronterface and press the Home-button, all axis move toward the endstops. The first axis which triggers the endstop starts beeping untill I manually hit an endstop (not the one for the beeping axis). After that the axis (the one I hit the endstop) starts slowly to do the pullup untill it stops.

...clueless

Thanks for any help

Lukas
Attachments:
open | download - Configuration.h (24.9 KB)
open | download - Configuration_adv.h (17.3 KB)
Re: wrong travel range (z) @ Rostock - Marlin
March 29, 2014 10:06AM
Okay ...

kind of fixed it.

It seems to be the microstepping.

I switched it in configuration.h and configuration_adv.h to fullstep and adjusted the steps per unit to 5.

Now everything works correctly.