Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building a Mendel in Southern New Hampshire

Posted by rossfree 
Building a Mendel in Southern New Hampshire
November 06, 2011 08:39AM
HI all. This is my first post. I'm a design engineer by trade working with Autodesk Inventor and a Dimension printer in-house. Love our printer but they frown on personal projects as the stuff is pretty expensive at about seven dollars a cu in. So I'm building my own!

Plastic parts are being printed (on the Dimension) as I type this. The rods and hardware are in and I should have the board etched and drilled today... maybe the opto boards as well.

I'm about to order what electronics I need to populate the boards and order some 1.7mm filament from ebay. I plan on turning / machining my own parts for the extruder.

I know my way around electronics and mechanics but boot loaders, firmware and the like put me off. Sure would be nice to have a couple of veterans nearby to keep me out of the dark!

My business is making thin film thermoformed teflon (fluoropolymer) parts. It might come in handy for this project as well. We don't have any machinable ptfe or peek materials about... that's too bad.

If you live in or around Southern New Hampshire (USA) I would love to hear from you. We could share our experience and ideas and help each other improve our machines. I think I have a lot to bring to the table. I already have ideas on assemblies that snap in and out for ease of service or changes.

I should have most parts ordered today and have most of them by next weekend. I plan to go with 1.7mm ABS with the intent of approaching the quality extrusions I get from the Dimension printer.

If you're in the area drop a line.

Regards all!

Ross
Re: Building a Mendel in Southern New Hampshire
November 06, 2011 01:51PM
Hey Ross-
Welcome, and good luck with your build. How far west in NH are you? (I'm in western Mass.)
Regards /James
November 06, 2011 07:11PM
Thank you James!