Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

new guy with some newguy questions =D

Posted by Sk8rseth 
new guy with some newguy questions =D
July 05, 2012 07:49PM
first, lemme introduce myself lol
people call me Seth or Sk8r, or my SN haha. im new to 3d printing, but by no means new to deisgn or manufacturing. ive designed and built PCs, as well as portable N64s and plenty of Xbox 360 mods and such. so im very confident in soldering and building etc...

now, i have a mendel related question since i cannot decide which version to go with. im trying to find the most reliable, easiest to build/maintain/upgrade, while also trying to keep it on a college kids budget. so far i gather that the MakerGear Prusa, and the MendelMax are the best versions of this reprap out there. is that correct?
which one do you guys prefer? and which do you think i should go with? the makergear is cheaper, i LOVE their customer service reviews and i think they might actually have the best overall product. but the mendelmax is seemingly better designed, definitely more rigid, and im a huge sucker for aluminum =P

suggestions?

also, what kind of info would you guys recommend i read first or know BEFORE diving into this whole venture? and what kind of software things should i learn since the software part of this is certainly my biggest weakness.
thanks in advance!!!!!
-Sk8rSeth
p.s. what/how the heck can i use raspberry pi with these? im confused on that whole thing, but i love it too
Re: new guy with some newguy questions =D
July 06, 2012 05:36AM

what/how the heck can i use raspberry pi with these?

The Pi is sort of a replacement for the PC. It can't prepare (slice) data for the printer, but it can do the user interface part while printing. You still need a full RepRap electronics or at least such a plug in board onto the Pi. The latter is just as expensive as a standalone RepRap electronics.