August 21, 2012 06:57PM
Hi guys, i few days ago i got this motors:

[cgi.ebay.com]

Type 17PM-J034-P2VS
Minebea Co. LTD.
Part# FH5-1043
1.8 deg 200 steps/rev when full-stepping
NEMA 17

I think that they will be ok for the axis, but i will need a higher torque one for the extruder, is that correct?
Re: stepper motors
August 23, 2012 09:39AM
Hey, Im only a new builder myself, I was of the understanding that a NEMA 17 motor was sufficient for the Extruder as it is listed in the BOM.

At least thats what I'm hoping as I only have another NEMA 17 motor for my extruder at the moment winking smiley
August 23, 2012 03:27PM
NEMA 17 motors are what you need. The extruder needs a motor with about 5 kg*cm of holding torque, the other four can be a little less. Use this calculator if the motor torque is not given in kg*cm: [www.engineersedge.com]

Help improve the RepRap wiki!
Just click "Edit" in the top-right corner of the page and start typing.
Anyone can edit the wiki!
September 21, 2012 05:20AM
Hi There,

First posting here so go easy guys, I'm just collecting parts for a Prusa, the suggested stepper for the print head is a minimum of 40 Ncm but there are no recommendations for the other motors. What would be the minimum for the drive motors please? I am trying to build on a budget, as it is just for interest, but don't want to waste money on motors that are too small, equally I don't want to go mad and buy vastly overrated ones which would be just as much a waste. Any help appreciated.

Terry
September 21, 2012 05:56AM
I bought two lots of those motors for two Prusa V2's I built and they work fine. The X and Y motors got too hot with the current turned up so I added VGA fans to them and now they run sweet. That said I just bought 5 of the bigger ones for my nex project and they aren't much more so I won't be buying the little ones again. They work fine for the z axis by the way, and run warm on the extruder.