Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie: RepRapPro Mendel x PP3DP Up Printer

Posted by AlexBorro 
Newbie: RepRapPro Mendel x PP3DP Up Printer
July 26, 2013 09:15AM
Hi Guys,

I'm new in this 3D printer wonderful world and, as usual, trying to pick a model to play with.

My question is should I get a pre-built one or build one. My main concern is printer and printing quality and durability.
As electrical engineer, I have enough skills to build my one.

I was wondering if a selfbuilt RepRapPro Mendel Mono (http://reprappro.com/products/mono-mendel/) would perform as good as a PP3DP Up 3D Plus (http://www.up3dusa.com/#!plus/c2nh).

Are the specs of Mendel as good as the Up 3D ?? I mean, accuracy, resolution, lowest layer height, bed temperature and so one.

I have did my homework and they look like similar, I just didn't found the Mendel bed temperature as long as the Up3D is 105ºC.

Any advice is welcome.

Alex.
Re: Newbie: RepRapPro Mendel x PP3DP Up Printer
July 26, 2013 09:49AM
AlexBorro
Are the specs of Mendel as good as the Up 3D ?? I mean, accuracy, resolution, lowest layer height, bed temperature and so one.

As good or BETTER!
Standard Mendel print area is 200mm x 200mm.
Height varies between 100mm to 200mm (Mendel90)

The UP! mini does have an enclosed volume with helps with printing ABS.

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
July 26, 2013 10:13AM
Hi Bob, I appreciate your help.

I noted Mendel can print bigger objects. It is 210x190x140 and UP3D is 140x140x135 (mm)

About enclosed volume, the Mendel didn't have as well. Check picture attached.

I was told the UP3D has a great print software with good features like auto build supports. Will I have same features with Mendel Software??

As I told, I'm newbie so I don't know which points I should pay attention.

Thanks!

Alex.
Attachments:
open | download - mono_mendel.jpg (162.5 KB)
July 26, 2013 10:51AM