Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Beginner looking for help - RAMPS issue?

Posted by CSN 
CSN
Beginner looking for help - RAMPS issue?
March 07, 2012 03:41PM
I am new to both reprap and Arduino, but thought prehaps a kit might be an interesting project for my high school robotics class. We bought a makerbot mendel prusa kit and have finished most of the construction. My problem is apparently the RAMPS 1.4.
I have been over the board a few times. I am trying to compile and load the blink and fade sketches that are included with the Arduino software to start communicating with the ArduinoMega2650. Without the RAMPS in place it works as it should. Once I install the shield, the arduino hangs during the upload and I get timeout errors. (avrdude: stk500v2 ReceivedMessage(): timeout) I am assuming I should still be able to upload these sketches with the RAMPS installed???
Needless to say I cannot upload the firmware(trying to load Marlin) as it also hangs with Timeout errors.
It has been a while, but my soldering skills are adequate for the RAMPS.
Think the next step might be to try a fully built and tested shield. Should I stick to RAMPS or try something else?
Suggestions? Many thanks.

running Win XP, but also hangs at the same spot on a mac laptop.
Re: Beginner looking for help - RAMPS issue?
March 07, 2012 03:58PM
Perhaps the shield is drawing too much power and causing the voltage regulator to shut down during the download?

Have you tried it without the stepper drivers installed?

What happens if you upload without the shield and then run it with it attached?

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
March 08, 2012 05:15PM
Have you powered up the ramps board with a 12V source? If you have the D1 diode installed, the arduino should power up also.