Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Power questions

Posted by RepRaptar 
Power questions
June 24, 2013 01:46AM
Hello. I've assembled a Prusa Mendel with RAMPS 1.4 but when I run this test code [reprap.org] nothing responds except the LED on the board. The board is currently only powered by USB. My main question is can the printer be powered through USB alone or is a separate 12 V source essential for the printer to operate (hence why my test failed). I can't seem to find an explicit answer for this, although from what I can tell USB can't supply the power that a 12 V / 5+ A source would. On a related note, I don't know what kind of connection is on the board for power, so I'm not sure what kind of adapter I would need to connect the board to a power supply.
I'm new to 3d printing and only have limited experience with electronics so by all means talk to me like I don't know anything. Thanks in advance for any help.
Re: Power questions
June 24, 2013 03:57AM
You definitely need a 12V source to power most of the RAMPS board. Specifically, it runs 1/2 of the stepper driver boards (the part that actually drive the stepper motors). It also runs the hot end, heated bed and fan connectors.

For a power supply, you need to figure out if you're going to run a heated bed or not. If you're not going to run a heated bed, you can get away with a 5A power supply. With a heated bed, I'd recommend a power supply that does at least 17-20A total to run both the heated bed and the hot end/fan/motors. Many people say you can get away with a 16A, but I've found that in many cases that's not always true, as the amount a heated bed can draw varies a lot from the average value of 11A that it's rated at.