Posted by jeremytapl 
need some help with printer
January 25, 2014 08:16PM
ok here is the basics:

sumpod basic printer
ramps 1.4
sprinter firmware
ponterface

the problem is that the z axis only moves down, and the x and y axis do not move at all, they do however make some noise when commanded to move, but only in one direction. I am new to this printer thing but have been in the cnc field for 8 years. any help would be appreciated.

thanks,
Jeremy
Re: need some help with printer
January 25, 2014 11:19PM
Things to check are the
v ref on the drivers
Feedrate in the firmware
End stops are fuctioning properly
Motors are wired correctly.
Power supply is working correctly

The z sounds like endstops, the x and y could one or more of the above.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/25/2014 11:21PM by cat.farmer.
January 26, 2014 12:28AM
I'm thinking that its the endstops. I got all the axis to move and calibrated them to move the correct amount but the printer ddoesn't seem to care about the endstops. So I played round with them on the ramps board and now it won't move again.
January 26, 2014 12:36AM
What sort of end stops, how have you got them hooked up, and how is it configured in the firmware?
January 26, 2014 12:40AM
Did you disable the endstops in the firmware to make it work?
January 26, 2014 09:44AM
They are mechanical endstops. The wires are hooked up to the two outside connections. And on the ramps board they are hooked to the right places I think, its a generic board so there isn't any writing on it. Ill attach a picture in a little bit.
January 26, 2014 10:39AM
I'm not a splinter user, but try the m119 command in pronterface to check the status of the end stops. Run m119 and then press the switch and see if the status changes. Thety should read triggered when pressed.
January 26, 2014 11:45AM
Ok I will try that and report back! Thanks for all the help so far!
January 26, 2014 02:38PM
ok so I typed in m119 and it sent back:
SENDING:M119
x_min:H y_min:H z_min:H