Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Multiple fan connections

Posted by FarmerChuck 
Multiple fan connections
December 30, 2014 09:38PM
Hello, I am just getting started with 3d printing & have been getting my materials & parts all lined out for a printer. I have the Sainsmart mega 2560 R3 with the ramps 1.4 with the A4988 drivers & the 12864 LCD. The question that I have is if I have one fan running to keep my ramps cool upon start up connected to the D9 terminals on the ramps where do I hook up another fan that I can control through the ramps or time delay for the hot end?. I've looked at the schematics and all over the webb & can't find any refrence for them. And yes with a handle like FarmerChuck i'm an old fart just getting started in 3D printing so either pin numbers or laymen terms, or a link to any article - page would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Re: Multiple fan connections
December 31, 2014 12:33AM
FarmerChuck
Hello, I am just getting started with 3d printing & have been getting my materials & parts all lined out for a printer. I have the Sainsmart mega 2560 R3 with the ramps 1.4 with the A4988 drivers & the 12864 LCD. The question that I have is if I have one fan running to keep my ramps cool upon start up connected to the D9 terminals on the ramps where do I hook up another fan that I can control through the ramps or time delay for the hot end?. I've looked at the schematics and all over the webb & can't find any refrence for them. And yes with a handle like FarmerChuck i'm an old fart just getting started in 3D printing so either pin numbers or laymen terms, or a link to any article - page would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

I use D9 for the controlled fan via slicer settings or M106 & M107 codes and for the always on fan use 12v off the RAMPS. Look for either 2 pins or 2 "through holes" on the board between where the X driver plugs in and the diode next to the smaller of the 2 square yellow fuses - that should be 12v.

Steve