Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[SOLVED] Cannot access marlin menu on 2004 LCD

Posted by Wiireless 
[SOLVED] Cannot access marlin menu on 2004 LCD
December 02, 2015 07:55AM
Hi all,

I am new to reprap but had some experience with 3d printing before.
I have recently received my RAMPS board and tried testing it together with the 2004 LCD.
However, after installed the Marlin firmware to my mega, the screen outputs the first page perfectly, but I am unble to access the menu to select any of the options.
When i press down on the scoll wheel button, all the screen does is flashes and bringing back the original page.
When I hold down the button and turn the knob at the same time, I can catch a glimpse of the menu options but it will be brought back to the default screen on release of the button
Futhermore, everything I insert or remove at SD card from the slot, the screen would disapear from about 1 second before the display comes back again.

Here is a video of such an occurance: [youtu.be]

Does anyone know what is happening and has anyone encountered such a problem before?
Thank in advance for any help that I can get!
Cheers

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 12/03/2015 08:39PM by Wiireless.
Re: Cannot access marlin menu on 2004 LCD
December 02, 2015 12:04PM
If the problem is not just due to mechanical button bouncing, I could image that putting seconds instead of milliseconds into the value of LCD_TIMEOUT_TO_STATUS in ultralcd.h could provoke this kind of strange behavior...
December 03, 2015 03:49AM
Hi, thanks for the reply.
The value of LCD_TIMEOUT_TO_STATUS in ultralcd.h is 15000.
However, I had left the ultralcd option commented and I only uncommented the reprapdiscount smart controller option so it probably isnt that i guess?
Is there any way to test for a faulty LCD controller?

Cheers!
December 03, 2015 05:00AM