Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie quality issues help

Posted by JBuck 
Newbie quality issues help
September 02, 2013 10:49AM
Hello all, newbie here. Zero experience with 3D printing, haven't seen one running other than online, so every bit of it is new to me. I've scanned through the troubleshooting page photos and didn't see anything that looked like the 2 issues I'm having. I suspect I just don't have something set right, but not knowing what to check, I'm not sure where to start first.

Two issues I'm trying to resolve. First is on infills. It looks like part of it is lifting up or not sticking to the previous layer. I'm using PLA at 220C, using slic3r for the code on a Prusa Mendel with a .35 nozzle. First layer is .35 (maybe .4, can't recall at the moment), then using .25 for the layer height. Table is at 60C. My infill was set to .9 on this sample.

Second issue is every so often, it's like the material shoots in a different direction. See the edges on this photo.

Any advice on where to start tuning? PLA is brand new from a reliable vendor, according to the forum.
Attachments:
open | download - IMG_2403.JPG (513.5 KB)
open | download - IMG_2404.JPG (443.4 KB)
open | download - IMG_2405.JPG (274.1 KB)
Re: Newbie quality issues help
September 02, 2013 12:13PM
It looks like underextrusion/extruder jam.

If you have done all the calibration, you can check:
Idler tension.

Extruder motor current, if it is too low it will skip, and if it is too high the thermal protection in the driver will kick in, and cause the motor to skip.

Extruder temperature, best way to check is to stick a thermocouple in the hotend where the filament normally goes. 220 degrees should normally be more than enough to melt PLA.

Gunk on the hobbed bolt, so it can't dig into the filament.

Filament getting stuck in the hotend tube, but then you wouldn't be able to finish the print.

If you haven't calibrated the printer yet, there's a nice guide here: [reprap.org]