Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I need help identifying the problems of my printer

Posted by netmav 
I need help identifying the problems of my printer
May 20, 2014 06:21AM
Hi guys.

I'm a noob, and I need some help getting my first printer to "work".

I've built a Prusa i2, with RAMPS 1.4 and a E3D 3mm direct Hot-end.
I'm printing PLA.

First: I'm having some serious issues getting the extruded PLA to stick to my hot bed.
I have tried the following:

Printing on glass: Even though I've cleaned the glass thoroughly and leveled my bed a million times, I still can't get the PLA to stick to the glass. It just curls up behind the nozzle as it moves around, and creates a blob around the nozzle.

Printing on glass with hair spray: A tad better adhesion with the hairspray, but not even close to "acceptable".

Printing on blue tape (with no heat on the bed): Somewhat OK adhesion, but the blue tape leaves "residue" on the printed part, and makes it look "ugly".

Printing on kapton tape (with heat): Almost no adhesion at all. Extruded PLA doesn't stick to the surface.

Printing on Kapton with hairspray (and heated bed): Not to bad adhesion, but far from perfect.

I would really love to be able to print directly on the glass, without having to apply tapes and/or any form of spray?

Also, when I get the print to stick, it doesn't look good.
Something is wrong, and I can't figure out what..

I started printing a fan holder/nozzle yesterday, and after a few layers, I had to stop the print.
The infill leaves plastic sticking up, so when the nozzle passes over on the next layer, the "collision" with these "mountains" causes the steppers to skip steps (x and y)?!?.

I've included a picture of the part i tried to print yesterday (on heated kapton with hairspray).
Can anyone help me with these issues?

Thanks.

\Martin
Attachments:
open | download - rsz_2014-05-020.jpg (374.4 KB)
Re: I need help identifying the problems of my printer
May 20, 2014 09:47AM