Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Strange Y Axis issue, A602 Prusa I3

Posted by Miasmictruth 
Strange Y Axis issue, A602 Prusa I3
March 04, 2015 08:44AM
I am relatively new to 3D printing and put together a new Prusa I3 a few weeks ago. To make a long story short first prints were really great and uniform.

This Issue:
When I put on the Y-axis belt I made a mistake it worked for the time being but I decided to get a new belt, also the threaded rods on the Y-axis frame were a bit too short.
I replaced both the rods and the belts and now I am printing Ovals instead of Circles

What I Tried:
Check everything to check it tight, bearings seem to be sliding well.
I used calipers to measure 120mm of travel and calibrated the steps to mm until it was a perfect as possible.

Testing:
Tried a test print again in the center of the bed. 10mm by 10mm by 3mm. The X is great about 10.03mm the Y is about 11mm and visually a rectangle not a square. The layer alignment is spot on so I don't think its slipping.
Then I double checked the Y axis travel still good over 120mm

Then I moved the bed 10mm at a time and measured each step on the Y axis I got a pattern like this (Rounded to whole numbers obviously), ran the test twice

Both times the 11mm anomaly happened at the same location which is roughly where I was printing.

Belt:
So I measured the new belt vs the old belt, over approximately 130mm the new belt has 1 extra tooth. The sprocket on the stepper is 16 tooth. I am not sure if its the new belt but I am going to see if I can manage to put the old belt back on tonight. Problem is I need a new belt. I don't if the printer came with some bizarre belt and sprocket pitch or the new belt is the culprit and not standard.

So what I am asking is, what should I try next, is the 1 tooth difference the big deal or might it be something else? If it is should I order new belts and sprockets so I am know they match? Thanks.
Re: Strange Y Axis issue, A602 Prusa I3