Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

File prints but no extrusion

Posted by SifuGreg 
File prints but no extrusion
February 09, 2015 02:27AM
okay, I'm a complete NOOB to Slic3r. Literally started playing with it an hour ago. I've uploaded the gcode to my machine and it draws the shape of what I am trying to print but absolutely no ABS comes out. I have the software in simple mode to avoid errors and everything looks fine to the unexperienced eye. What should I be looking for? GCODE attached (with most of the G1 lines removed to shorten the file)...forum.gcode.txt

SifuGreg
Re: File prints but no extrusion
February 09, 2015 02:41AM
Hi
In the screen " manual control " is a button called " dry run " if it is checked your printer will execute the print without any extrusion.
February 09, 2015 11:58PM
Thanks. Apparently the problem was that my firmware requires that a G-Code Flavor be set to RepRap (Marlin/Sprinter/Repetier). Once done and resetting the bed home to 0.0 instead of 100.100 which makes no sense to me whatsoever but I am using the new beta version I was able to get it to work. Now it is all down to the tweaking. The output is sub par compared to the factory software. I've got a lot more playing to do with height, temperature etc. but I'm having way too much fun playing!!
February 10, 2015 12:19PM
SifuGreg
Thanks. Apparently the problem was that my firmware requires that a G-Code Flavor be set to RepRap (Marlin/Sprinter/Repetier). Once done and resetting the bed home to 0.0 instead of 100.100 which makes no sense to me whatsoever but I am using the new beta version I was able to get it to work. Now it is all down to the tweaking. The output is sub par compared to the factory software. I've got a lot more playing to do with height, temperature etc. but I'm having way too much fun playing!!