Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

X/Y/E Motors Do Not Turn. Help?

Posted by yaueh 
X/Y/E Motors Do Not Turn. Help?
July 09, 2013 11:25PM
Reposting in this forum to see if I can get any feedback

I am new to 3d printing and have been trying manage to setup my own diy 3d printer. I know enough to get by and mostly understand what's going on.
My set up is completely diy and machined but I can assure it should run smoothly. For now I just want to get a simple setup up and running with no endstops or heated bed. I ordered a Sanguish board from a member on here bryanandaimee he has helped plenty but we can't seem to figure out whats wrong.

Here are my problems:
1. Extruder does not turn at all either trying to run a dry print or manually pressing the button on repetier host (It was previously working when I was adjusting and testing motor I think after I changed the code to my preferences it stopped so I tried reuploading the original and still the same)
2. My X and Y axis do not turn at all when trying to run a dry test but do turn manually pressing button (Z axis does turn every layer)
3. Homing does not seem to work as well for any axis

Again my setup is a Sanguish board with an ATMEGA 1284p running repetier firmware my table build volume is 6inches cubed all 3 leadscrew m6 rods 1.8 degree 200 step motors
And yes I have checked connectors and all basic troubleshooting :b

Remember I am new at this so keep that in mind but doesn't mean I'll give up or won't try!
Re: X/Y/E Motors Do Not Turn. Help?
July 10, 2013 03:18AM
First check if M119 gives you an empty response. Having no endstops mean you have to configure it without hard or software andstop activated or you might hit internal signals stopping your move.
Homing without endstops is dangerous and will always crash your extruder into the endstop side. Do not do it without!