Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

bipod question

Posted by craigbossard 
bipod question
February 12, 2015 11:49AM
Hello,

I am building a 3d printer that is a hybrid cartesian and delta machine. I saw the bipod configuration for repetier and it is almost what I need. The notes say that bipod is not supported, what is missing? I'm trying to figure out the code, but I am just a beginner.

The main idea of my project is to utilize what I have available most effectively. I can pick up old scanners for a couple bucks at the local university surplus. Each scanner has a linear guide, stepper drive, and optical endstop. I thought about building a cartesian printer, but I would have to build a lot of parts for it. If I went with a delta, I don't have enough rail length, and again, tons of fab to do. So, I came up with a configuration that offers me the best of both worlds. I put two scanner beds so that the rails are on the inside facing each other. Since I only am getting XY motion from the two bed, I can use tall hinges for rigidity, and still have a very light stage, since the motors are pretty small. Since I use a cartesian Z, I get all the delta benefits but I'm not bound up by the short linear rails from the scanners. If anyone has any interest in this project, I will make drawings and tell you whatever you want. I am looking for collaboration if there is interest.

My biggest problem is I am not a code person. I think I could use repetier with delta settings if I use a simple rotation matrix and a transformation vector to move the origin. The look ahead wouldn't work right I think, because it skips Z and all my motion would be Z. I'm hoping the bipod config will get me there with some work. If we get the config right, I think we could make a how-to that would get total cost well under $100.

Thanks,
Craig Bossard
Re: bipod question
February 13, 2015 03:10AM