Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Controlling individual extruders on a mixing head

Posted by Make_3D 
Controlling individual extruders on a mixing head
November 20, 2015 06:05AM
Hi,

I am very new to mixing head extruders but I have just upgraded to a mixing head (2 in 1 out) and setup my repetier firmware to enable the mixing extruder option, I have also enabled this in repetier host. So now I have extruders 1 and 2 showing in the manual control tab and only 1 heater / temp (as expected), the issue coming when i try to load or unload the extruders, obviously i would like to load the extruders indiviually however no matter which extruder i select (1 or 2) they both turn at the same time. Is there an option somewhere that i havent checked to be able to independently control the individual extruder motors?

Also, i assume that for simple 2 colour printing i simply import 2 models and assign each one with a different extruder? or do i have to play with the mixing options? When i do want to adjust the mixing settings, how would i do this? I havent found any guides on how to do this.
Re: Controlling individual extruders on a mixing head
November 21, 2015 02:38AM
You have 16 mixing ratios assigned to 16 virtual extruders. By default all have same weight so all turn.

Open eeprom settings in host or server and you see the real extruders with 16 weights. Assign weights for the virtual extruders like this:

0: 100 / 0
1: 0 / 100
2: 25 / 75
3: 50/50
4: 75/25

and set number of extruders in host also to 16. Now if you select 1 and retract only that one retracts/extrudes. Select T1 (Extruder 2) and extruder 2 only moves. That's all. For multicolor you assign each part one of the virtual extruders with predefined weight distribution.

Repetier-Software - the home of Repetier-Host (Windows, Linux and Mac OS X) and Repetier-Firmware.
Repetier-Server - the solution to control your printer from everywhere.
Visit us on Facebook and Twitter!
November 29, 2015 04:28PM