Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building my Mendel90 from kit

Posted by daichiasuka 
Building my Mendel90 from kit
January 18, 2013 03:30AM
Let me start by saying that I am very new to 3D printing . I took an interest in it about 6 months ago and have since been bugging my wife to let me buy one. smiling smiley I chose the Mendel90 because of the excellent reviews and recommendations I have seen scattered about the reprap forums. It certainly didn’t hurt that, just as I was starting to seriously look at buying a printer, the new sleek black Dibond design came out.

This is a very well designed machine and I am extremely happy with it and the things I have been able to produce with it thus far. I wanted to share with anyone considering purchasing one my experience and a few notes this n00b had along the way.

Some background on myself so you can level set your expectations with my experience: I consider myself mechanically competent, good at improvising when need, and a hobbyist in electronics. I own a nice soldering iron and have assembled a few through-hole kits, but I’ve never fully designed something myself.

For the most part the 72 page assembly manual is very thorough and easy to follow. Here are a few notes I had:
    - I’m an American (sorry). While I personally like metric, tiny metric bolts and tools for them are fairly hard to find here. This isn’t really nophead’s problem, but I feel I need to give any US folks a heads up.
    - There is a note in the beginning about the polypropylene strips needing to be cut to length. If you don’t the ribbon slack for the X Motor Assembly will be much longer than you need.
    - The link in step 11 for the heatshield template is broken.