Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

MDF still viable?

Posted by UkIan 
MDF still viable?
October 01, 2014 04:45PM
The early Mendel 90 was built with MDF 12mm iirc, the new ones use composite ali Dibond. (I assume the middle ones used some sort of acrylic??

Anyway, dibond seems really expensive, MDF 12 or even 9mm is cheap by comparison. Acrylic sheets not too keen on.

Is there anything I'd need to change dramatically if I followed the plans for the current Mendel 90 and used MDF 12mm?

Would 9mm be sufficiently rigid (I think I've got a couple of sheets in the garage)?

I'm still deciding what to do for the next printer, so apologies for all the slightly random questions.
Re: MDF still viable?
October 02, 2014 04:13PM
Hi,

I have made my custom "Sturdy" with MDF. I have been using the printer for six months and the MDF is all good.
However you do have to treat the MDF with primer and then paint it with 2 layers to prevent MDF from drying out.

I have 12 mm so I can't tell if 9mm will be strong enough.
It also depends on te size rods you are going to use.
October 03, 2014 06:19AM
There are rod options?
For the m mdf I know all about painting, it's a dark art to get a good, durable finish smiling smiley what is interesting is that once I start factoring in paint, the composite might be a similar price.
October 05, 2014 04:29PM
You are right about that. The price for the painting and primer was an unpleasant surprise one after I obtained my MDF cheap. (14 euro)
I paid around 44 euro for primer, paint and a brush.

I'm using 12mm smooth rods for the Y-axis and 8mm for the X and Z axis.
The current dibond Mendel90 uses 6mm rods so that would maybe best for your 9mm MDF you are using.
October 05, 2014 05:00PM
It's amazing you can actually get a mirror like finish on MDF, but the work involved is ... involved.

6mm rods seem awfully flimsy, now I've got some lengths of 8mm I was considering 12mm myself.
October 05, 2014 05:57PM