Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Filament Storage

Posted by Polymath 
Filament Storage
March 08, 2014 09:02AM
Hi all, newbie here, still getting to grips with the Ormerod but picking up tips from everyone at a rapid rate!

Thought others might be iinterested in my solution to filament storage, Lakeland sell a 'Clean Click' 0.85 Litre round storage box, item 16823 (barcode 5052775168237), at £3.79 which is a perfect fit for the 100 Metre reel of 1.75mm filament (RS / FilamentPrint) and allow space in the bottom for a Lakeland no spill hanging moisture trap sachet (24337 - 50552775243378) £9.99 for eight, to remove moisture. Not sure yet about Lavender scented filament - I will let you know.

Steve - RS Ormerod - 7th Feb 2014
"... the clouds looked as if they had heard about snow and were considering the idea." - (Terry Prachett, The Light Fantastic)
Re: Filament Storage
March 08, 2014 10:01AM
Hi Poly,

Sounds like a nice idea for the 100m reels, I think most of us are now buying the much much cheaper 1kg (~360m) reels from a proven good quality and reliable ebay seller, [www.ebay.co.uk]

I wonder if there is a similar box that will take the larger reels, I'm already beginning to notice the difference between dry stored and filament exposed to moisture

Matt

Limited Edition Red RS Ormerod 1 #144 of 200 - RRP 1.09fw
iamburnys Ormerod Upgrades Github
Follow me on ThingiVerse My Designs
March 08, 2014 12:12PM
I've got a spare roll of grey PLA, keeping it the airing cupboard with the linen smiling smiley

Another RS Ormerod Mk1 meets the world smiling smiley

Retired now but I used to make....
CNC Machined Mk1 aluminium bed support plates for the Ormerod
CNC machined X-plates and ribs for Mk1 & Mk2 Ormerods
CNC machined bed support arms for the Mk2 Ormerod.
Dual Hot-End heatsink blocks.
March 08, 2014 05:32PM
Doesnt 1kg rools always ship vacuum bagged?
March 08, 2014 06:20PM
5dala
Doesnt 1kg rools always ship vacuum bagged?