Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

General question about the Duet (off Topic ?)

Posted by alanbattersby 
General question about the Duet (off Topic ?)
January 24, 2014 11:12AM
Hi,
I did a search for Duet on all forums and as Ormerod forum was main area I thought I would as my question here. I am a newbie Ormerod owner (just did my first own design and print yesterday) but I have been playing around with CNC stuff for a few years. Before buying the Ormerod I had been thinking of moving away from a PC base for my other stuff, so I was looking a linuxcnc on BeagleBoneBlack ( I have a BBB plus output board running linuxcnc, again bleeding edge development at present) . However after using the Duet + software for a few days I think I am beginning to prefer it to linuxcnc, because like 3D printing my other stuff uses a very small subset of gcode (unlike linuxcnc which is all encompassing). Also the code base for the firmware is reasonably small and manageable unlike linuxcnc (at least to me smiling smiley ).

I do not want to get into, or start, a which is the best software argument, my question is hardware related. The steppers on my other setup are Nema 23s and I use M325s (now old hat) at 24V max current 2.5 amps to drive them. Will the Duet card handle that loading?. Can someone point me in the direction of a data sheet for the Duet, I looked on the think3dprint3d site but could not see anything in the way of technical documentation. If I bought a Duet could I drive it just from 5v and connect its motor output pins to my M325s would that work or does the card need 12v . If the Duet is thought to be overkill , can the Firmware run either on the BBB or on a Due board connected to some form of breakout board?

All wisdom gratefully accepted.

Alan

(Ormerod 291 )
Re: General question about the Duet (off Topic ?)
January 24, 2014 11:16AM