Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Carbon Fiber Filament

Posted by JDNicolson 
Carbon Fiber Filament
August 07, 2014 04:30PM
I'm keen to print with this: [www.imakr.com] does anyone have experience with carbon fiber filament?

They mention possible issues with bowden type machines such as the ormerod.
Re: Carbon Fiber Filament
August 07, 2014 06:26PM
I've no experience of this particular filament, but really enjoy trying unusual types, and have not done any lasting damage to my Ormerod yet spinning smiley sticking its tongue out I am definitely going to try this one out (have ordered it already) and will report back. I've also pre-ordered their amazing looking (but horribly expensive) bronze filament and will let you know how that goes too...thanks for the pointer
August 08, 2014 01:19AM
Thanks for that. I'll be really interested to hear how it goes. I will be trying the filament too but not for a while. I wanted to use it to try and print David Perry's superb F-F-Fiddle [www.thingiverse.com] He recommends this filament for improved tone and aesthetics. However, I'll need to extend my Y-axis/bedplate to 300mm first since the neck section is 280mm long. I'm thinking about how to do that in the meantime.
August 08, 2014 04:05AM
i would recommend to change the filament feeder before you try out the new filament because of this
MasonStonehenges Springloader seems to be the anwsere.
i think that carbonfiber filament wlll cut deep into the stock feeder because of the carbon in it.

for your bigger bedplate - check out how far the bed can move if you redesign the lower part of your
print you might be able to print on the bed at first. but the larger part as an overhang hanging over the
edges of the bed.

Red Ormerod No. 281

Mods:
-My Bedsupport Mk2
-My upper z mount
-Davek0974s Aluminium X-Rib
-iamburnys Z Gears
-Form232-teks Cthulhu cooling ductg
-MasonStonehenges spring-loaded extruder

RepRapFirmware-0.78k-dc42,
web interface 0.99, Win7