Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z Homing/printing problem - *Solved*

Posted by victhor 
Z Homing/printing problem - *Solved*
August 08, 2014 03:21PM
Hello, Im new to 3d printing and I have no idea whats causing this problem, But I will try to provide as much information as I can.

This is what i do to print something:
  1. I set the Z axis using a paper between the bed and extruder to get the height just right then I send the G92 Z0 command to set Z as 0.
  2. I set the heat for the extruder to 200*c and the bed for 65*c and wait for them to heat up.
  3. Then I select a G code file for print and the machine starts to print it, raising the extruder 5mm, moves it to the middle, lowers the extruder 5mm and starts to print.
I have printed 2 things so far, a mini-figure and a whistle grinning smiley

But now i get this wierd problem

The nozzle raises about 5 mm (like it does all the time before a print) and then it should lower itself 5mm (To Z=0) and start to print right?
But my nozzle seems to go 4-10 mm under what i set Z=0 to be, and pressing against the glass so the extruder bends and the other side of the bed lifts.
It then starts to move like normal but scraping against the glass, I always press the emergency stop before that happens tho.

I didnt have this problem before and i have no damn clue whats causing it, im sure its something simple.

Printer: Ormerod
Firmware: FIRMWARE_NAME:RepRapFirmware FIRMWARE_VERSION:0.78 ELECTRONICSgrinning smileyuet + Extension DATE:2014-06-11

I can provide more information but i hope this is enough

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 08/09/2014 11:02AM by victhor.

Youtube: [www.youtube.com] 3D printing videos
3D Hub: [www.3dhubs.com] Pictures of stuff I've printed
Thingyverse: [www.thingiverse.com] More pictures
Facebook: [www.facebook.com]
Re: Z Homing/printing problem - Please Help!
August 08, 2014 03:54PM