Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help! First start and homing issues

Posted by WolfgangA 
Help! First start and homing issues
October 05, 2014 03:08AM
Dear experienced forum members,

may I kindly ask for some help getting my newly assembled Ormerod 1 up and running. I a complete newbie into the 3D business, and just completed the assembling, plugged power, USB and networks in, and all this works. With Arduino, Pronterware or the web interface I can move the head in all directions, and the extruder works. I have firmware updated to 0.78c. The proximity sensor seem to work properly, however the value between 600-700 I do only get at about 3 mm above the bed, not 1.8mm. Is that a problem? The micro switch for the Y end works. I have put rectangle pieces of white paper (25x25mm) on the glass and used Kapton tape on them to fix on the bed (all over). Each paper is about 5 mm away from each edge.

And now I am coming to the issues. I tried hard to follow the manual, but I can't make it. Might be a combination of not my native language (I am german) and some overcomplicated or inconsistend descriptions in the manual, and there seem to be some gaps as well?

First of all, for my understanding. Shouldn't the printer move the bed and the head into its home position as soon as power is ON ? My printer does not. And so it can happen that the bed clashes at the right end of the axis (opposite side of the stepper motor).

Another understanding problem: where should the home position be? I would think, the home position should be somewhere on the left rear corner of the bed, about Y=20 mm frome edge and X=20 mm.

Yes? I think it could not be X0 Y0, because what about those paperclips, which holding the glas bed? The printer head clashes with them in these extreme positions.