Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Slic3r profile for Ormerod 2 results in rubbish prints

Posted by bartdietrich 
Slic3r profile for Ormerod 2 results in rubbish prints
April 27, 2015 08:22AM
Hi all,

I'm new to this so apologies if the resolution of this problem is obvious.

My Ormerod 2 prints the G code that came with the firmware (e.g. the whistle or coathook) well enough, only the occasional small blob or wisp of melted PLA. So I thought I'd give a few STL files a go. I use Slic3r to create the G code from the STL files. Downloaded and installed the Ormerod profile for Slic3r as per instructions on RepRap website. The problem is that, after a few layers, the nozzle starts riding over and bumping into material it has already printed. After a sufficient number of layers this gets so bad that the nozzle either detaches the print from the bed and drags it around or gets stuck in parts of the print and makes the x,y motors skip. Not to mention overhangs, which curl up like mad, but one thing at a time I guess (attempted to print the Massive Overhangs Test Light)

Given that the G code files that came with the printer print OK, but ones that I create using Slic3r don't, I figured the problem must be with Slic3r settings, maybe over-extrusion. I've set filament diameter to 1.71 mm (about right, average value measured over a length of it) and went as low as 0.85 for the extrusion multiplier. My steps/mm for the extruder motor is spot-on. I've tried different bed temperatures (75/70 to 60/55 first/next) and nozzle temperature (215/210 to 185/180 first/next). The axes and infrared probe are calibrated. I've played around with various other parameters (print speeds, extrudate widths, layers heights etc) but nothing seems to stop what looks like over-extrusion and the resulting crashing of the nozzle into the print.