Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First layers problem

Posted by helidave1 
First layers problem
September 09, 2015 11:12AM
Hi All,
I have a Ormerod 2 V528.4. Had it about a week and installed the latest firmware as advised. Its my first attempt at 3d printing so apologies in advance if I am missing something obvious.

I have printed out some of the test pieces that come with the software (snowman, coat-hanger and the axis test piece). All the prints are 95% successful however I have 2 problems which I believe are linked.

1) I never get a complete skirt printed out. Its always a partial skirt (about 60 to 70% complete I guess).
2) The first few layers do not seem to properly merge, they are "stringy" I guess is the best way to put it. I can separate them with a fingernail after the item has cooled. This means the bottom few layers are slightly deformed.

I also notice the same effect on a simple design of my own however I also noticed that the overall height of the completed item seems to be out by 0.9mm or so. When I looked at the height from the top of the item back down to the first good layer, the height seems correct. Almost as if its printing a couple of extra layers although when I check it on Slicr3 it is correct.

The Z height has been checked and reset several times to see if this is my problem. The bed has been levelled as described (and re-checked 3 times). The filament is the one supplied with the kit (white PLA). I clean the bed with Acetone prior to a print.

I can attach a photo if that would make it clearer.

Thanks in advance
Re: First layers problem
September 09, 2015 11:24AM