Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Motor choice?

Posted by loidor 
Motor choice?
November 11, 2014 03:13PM
I'm just getting into 3D printing and will build a wooden repstrap in order to print me a smartrap. So I'm stuck at motors. What should I aim for? Torque? Shaft length? Dimensions? I can get hold of 0.34 Nm motors quite easily - will that do for the extruder?
Re: Motor choice?
November 11, 2014 06:13PM
Not knowing what the weight is of your repstrap
0.34 NM will be fine for horizontal axis.
if the weight aint to much then you could use them also for the Z-axis

What kind of extruder do you have in mind?
A geared extruder can do with less powerful motor, a direct drive extruder needs more power.

If the motors are not to pricey it's always worth a try, you will most likely need more motors in the future. :-)
November 12, 2014 01:09AM
On the Smartraps I've been building I've been using lower cost Wantai 42BYGHW609 motors. They are a good value and I use them to keep costs low on entry level printers though I've used them on larger machines in the past. These days on the larger machines I use Kysan 1124090. (I also used those on the prototype Smartrap but went for a lower cost motor in the end). They are a bit more robust, more holding torque and larger, longer wire. Depending on the distributor they come with connectors installed. The Kysan are about a third more (in US pricing) with the body being a bit longer. The Kysan are 5.5kg/cm holding torque and the Wantai are 4kg/cm holding torque, still enough to drive 1.75 filament with an MK7 gear on the Smartrap.

When using the Wantai motors on a Smartrap the M4 x 60 screws that help stabilize the base are a bit too long due to the shorter motor. You can either trim the screws or use shorter screws.
November 12, 2014 05:19AM