Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ambitious RepRap builder

Posted by stefanturcanu.11 
Ambitious RepRap builder
February 14, 2012 12:25PM
Hello everyone!

I am new to all of this so please excuse my lack of transparency and knowledge in what concerns the topic. I have been spending the past few days browsing the wiki and the forums and so far my head is 99% closer to implosion from digesting this huge amount of information. So please bear with me. eye popping smiley

First things first, my name is Stefan and I like in Denmark. I want to get started building a RepRap as a hobby and, why not, for a possible commercial purpose. (money makes the world go round, right? smoking smiley )

I have considered taking the Prusa Mendel as a first build - as it is the easiest way to get used to the FFF technology.

The reason why I am writing this message is that I could not find out some bits of information which I find important.

Information such as:
1. what kind of materials can be used, in filament form, other than PLA and ABS?
2. I've noticed the fine outcomes many of you guys have got from hours of sweat, work and tears of joy. However, I am wondering if there is any method of creating a smooth surface (close to or identical to the one on Lego bricks) ?
3. has anyone figured out what type of surface treatments can be performed on the finished goods?

If there are already existing topics I would so APPRECIATE IT if you could point them out for me. I just couldn't find them - no laziness included.
Thank you and hope to be posting my take on the RepRap tech soon! I'm anticipating I will start buying the parts in March.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/14/2012 12:27PM by stefanturcanu.11.
Re: Ambitious RepRap builder
February 15, 2012 05:38AM