Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Maya File compatability?

Posted by Nadesican 
Maya File compatability?
May 15, 2012 12:59AM
Hey all! I'm an artist and 3d modeler, and the concept of having my very own 3d printer is just too good to pass up.. but I have a slight issue with file compatability. I've read in the manual that the program that actually prints takes files generated by CAD, a program I don't really use.

Is the current software compatable with Maya, 3ds max, and/or Zbrush exported files? If not, is there some sort of adapter?

I'd really hate to get started on this only to be tripped up by software.
VDX
Re: Maya File compatability?
May 15, 2012 02:48AM
... the printer software accepts STL-files, so either you'll need an STL-exporter in your CAD or a separate 3D-converter from your basic file formats to STL ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
Re: Maya File compatability?
May 15, 2012 03:17AM
mayaExportSTL 0.1.0 (maya script)

Export STL from Maya for 3D printing

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
just in case you weren't aware: if you're using zbrush you can use the "3d print exporter" plugin (http://[www.zbrushcentral.com]), to export .STL's, and, if you've downloaded the latest release, they've got some really great features like "dynamesh" and "shell" that should make prepping models for 3d printing more "3d artist-friendly"*.

*don't worry, i speak of my own people (since i'm a 3d character artist, in the north bay).

i hope you don't mind, but i actually had some questions i wanted to ask you. i'm thinking of building my own 3d printer and, as a person that's entering this community from a similar trajectory, i'm intrested in your perspective:
-which reprap version and options did you settle on? why?
-did you purchase a kit or pre-built unit?